“Let's keep the wind singing in both ears, and pray for the courage to interpret and act upon what it brings to us.”

-Angus H. MacLean

UUA Logo


Palomar Unitarian Universalist Fellowship
Annual Congregational Meeting Agenda
Sunday, June 8th, 2014

Welcome: (President David Cochran)

Chalice Lighting: (Reverend Dr. Beth Johnson)

Call to Order: (President David Cochran)

Appoint Parliamentarian: (President David Cochran)

Agenda Review: (President David Cochran)

Confirm Quorum: (Past President Dick Eiden & Secretary Marj Lacey)

Approval of Minutes of June 2013 Annual Meeting Minutes

Approval of January 2014 congregational Meeting Minutes

Presentation & Election of Officers: (President-Elect Misty Kirkman)

  • President Elect – John Schwestka
  • Secretary – Marj Lacey
  • Treasurer – Tim Peirce

Awards: (President David Cochran)

Election of Committee on Ministry:

  • Metje Saffir – Serving 1 year
  • Ruth Abad – Serving 2 years
  • Marianne Swift Gifford – Serving 2 years
  • Beth Medina – Serving 3 years

More Awards: (President David Cochran)

Election of Nominating Committee:

  • Kimberly Lily
  • Ann Kay
  • Deanna Pearson
  • LiAnn Mufson
  • Todd Dayton
  • Pat Bentz
  • Beth Hastings

C-CAT Report: (Diana Peirce)

Presentation & Adoption of the Budget: (Tim Peirce)

Parking Lot Repair Discussion: (President David Cochran)

Confirmation of By-Law Change:

Palomar Unitarian Universalist By-Laws
Article VII
Section 8
As revised on January 12, 2014

In confirmation of the change in the By-Laws as voted on and adopted during a special congregational meeting on January 12, 2014. The revised By-Law will be read as follows:

Article VII

Section 8: Committee on Ministry: The Committee on Ministry consists of four members elected by the congregation from a slate presented by the Nominating Committee. The members agree to serve for one term of three years.

Terms are staggered. Elected terms for the initial slate will reflect the ongoing staggered terms. Committee on Ministry members may not serve on the Executive Board or as the Coordinator of the Council of Committees, Activities, and Teams.

The Committee on Ministry meets monthly under normal circumstances. The Committee chooses one member each year to serve as the Chair. The Chair is responsible for disseminating information, soliciting items for the agenda, and running the meeting.

The Committee on Ministry is responsible for 1) supporting members in living the congregation’s mission and covenant; 2) evaluating and supporting the fulfillment of the mission and covenant, and 3) consulting with professional clergy and other staff, the executive board, task forces, teams, committees, and members of the congregation and sharing the Committee’s impressions of the effectiveness of ministry to the congregation.

Candidates for the Committee on Ministry should be active members familiar with the congregation’s history and culture; respected and trusted by lay and clergy; able to focus on the big picture mission, covenant, and ministry; skillful in communication, and committed to the well-being of the whole.

This also changes Article V, Section 2, #2 to read as follows…

At each annual meeting, the congregation: Elects one or two members to serve on the Committee on Ministry for a staggered, three year term.

Honoring the Outgoing Board: (Reverend Dr. Beth Johnson)

  • Dick Eiden, Past President

Call for Other Business:

Adjournment: (President David Cochran)

Extinguishing chalice

Get Adobe Reader

Adobe Reader is required for the online edition of Telescope and other PDF documents on this site, and it is a free download.

Get Adobe Reader